First of Letters to Loved Ones.

Well.  Here we go again, another trip around the sun, the earth endlessly spinning and tilting.  🙂
 
I just took down and put away my Christmas decorations and put the usual stuff in its place.  It was kind of sad, almost like being in mourning.  I kept looking at the Christmas stuff and saying, “Okay.  I really need to take all of this down and put it away.”  And then this childish voice in my head would cry, “But I don’t wanna!”
 
Not because I didn’t want to do the work (I’ve never shied away from work), but because taking it all down would be an acknowledgment that the holiday season is over.  I don’t want the holidays to be over.  I love them and will miss them.  But I did it.  I took everything down and put it all away carefully and with so much love.
 
I thought about what a year 2013 was.  So many cool things happened that year.  Maybe this year will be the year that I finally get the fuck out of southern Nevada.  At least last year after the holidays, I had so many things to look forward to:  Tara turning 18.  Tara graduating from high school.  Tara going to Europe.  This year, it seems there’s nothing to look forward to.  The only thing upcoming is extreme heat and suffocating humidity.  Sweating and being hot.  Yuck.
 
But wait!  There is Superbowl to look forward to!  (GO BRONCOS!) and there is the winter Olympics.  And then the spring climbing season on Everest.
 
Okay.  I’m really stretching here, but at least I’m trying to look on the bright side.
 
So we’re all still here.  We’ve completed another round about the sun.  And God willing, we will all be blessed and content this year. 
 
Much love to you all,
Stef  🙂
Leave a Reply

